The New Feminist in Me

I’ve become more and more of a feminist, very critical of the messages to women we see in the media and elsewhere, since I’ve had my daughter. Granted, I’ve never really felt like I was inferior simply because I’m a female, but the feelings are growing now that I have a daughter. There are so many things I disagree with on TV and in movies and magazines and the internet that I just don’t want her to grow up believing.

Take for example the average sitcom. There is a stay-at-home mom, who makes a big breakfast of bacon, eggs, toast, juice, and milk for the family. Husband and kids eat, then leave their plates on the table without so much as a “Thank you.” The joke is normally that the husband has some crazy scheme to get out of being home with the kids and lending a hand. And this is the normal that we see. Mom does all the work, Dad flakes out, Dad apologizes, Mom forgives, Dad comes off as gallant and noble and sweet. Rinse and Repeat. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against stay-at-home moms. I think it’s great when a Mom stays at home to take care of her children and help them grow into wonderful adults. I also think it’s great when a Mom goes to work to help support her family. I don’t think it’s great when Moms make each other feel guilty for their choices.

I’m also getting sick of women being treated as sex objects. On our local news, several different calendars and “hotties” contests have been featured in recent weeks. This involves showing women wearing lingerie and earmuffs, and prancing around the studio for all the men to enjoy. Because clearly, the only way to judge a woman’s worth is by looking at her body, and the only thing women were put on this earth to do is have their bodies looked at. It’s frustrating. I’m mad at the companies that sponsor this (I’m looking at you, Hooters), and I’m mad at the women who let themselves be objectified. They’re making it harder for my daughter to consider herself a person, instead of “just a woman”.

Maybe we wouldn’t have so many instances of “Superwoman Syndrome” if we didn’t have this pressure to prove we’re more than what’s portrayed in the media. Maybe we wouldn’t feel the need to “do it all” if we didn’t feel like we were being held back. I don’t know. I just know I’m sick of all this obvious and not-so-obvious anti-woman atmosphere.

Just a rant, from an over-protective mother.

2 responses to “The New Feminist in Me

  1. Pingback: When everything changed: My mom the reluctant feminist | Reader, I created him

  2. Pingback: Menstruation and the Media « sciencemomma

Leave a Reply

