Menstruation and the Media

Apparently, I’m not as much of a feminist as I had thought.  The new big thing I’ve been seeing (and maybe it’s just me and the circles I’ve fallen in to) is pictures of women with menstrual blood.  The point of these depictions is that women shouldn’t be ashamed of menstruation, they should be proud of this uniquely female process, yada yada yada.

I’m not swayed.  Also, I don’t like the guilt being thrown onto other women who DON’T want the world to know they’re on their period.  Here’s my reasoning:

I don’t really think women are trying to hide the fact that they menstruates so much as we don’t want to be covered in blood and other stuff.  I don’t want blood running down my legs in general.  I don’t want people to know when I’m on my period, either.  Just like how I don’t want urine and feces running down my legs, I don’t want the whole world to be aware of when I pee or poop!  Plus, there’s the whole fact that this is blood we’re talking about.  Blood is a potentially biohazardous material.  So, yea, let’s not get that everywhere, please.  Not to mention the fact that the only thing that I want people to see that has come out of my vagina is my daughter.  And she’s not biohazardous (I think).

Does that make me un-feminist?  Am I bowing down to our male-dominated society by not being “proud” of my menstruations?  I’m not saying we should be ashamed of our periods.  I’m just saying I really don’t like this new trend of “art”.

One response to “Menstruation and the Media

  1. Pingback: The Ritualization of PMS Protocol « The Narcissistic Anthropologist

Leave a Reply

